Killam Teaching Prize – Call is open for 2024

The Killam Teaching Prize is awarded to acknowledge outstanding teaching and learning contributions made by teaching faculty in LFS.

Does someone come to mind?

Note: The next Killam Teaching Prize will be awarded in 2024.

Your nomination must include a ~150-word rationale why you wish to nominate a candidate, as well as some examples of their teaching excellence.


Among the criteria taken into consideration will be sustained teaching excellence, the ability to motivate students and stimulate critical thinking, and development of innovative approaches to teaching methodology and curricula.


UBC LFS faculty members, including lecturers and sessional lecturers, appointed for a minimum of three years in any of the Faculty’s programs are eligible to be nominated for the prize. Award winners within the last six years may not be nominated (see previous winners below).

Killam Teaching Prize Committee Terms of Reference

Previous Winners:

Killam Teaching Award Faculty Winners

YearsAward Winners
2019-20Kristen Walker
2017-18Kelleen Wiseman
2015-16Candice Rideout
2013-14Dan Weary
2011-12Karol Traviss
2009-10Art Bomke
2007-08Marina von Keyserlingk
2005-06Andrew Riseman
2005-06Maja Krzic
2002-03Gwen Chapman
2001-02Don Luymes
2000-01Mahesh Upadhyaya
1998-99Art Bomke
1997-98Brian Holl
1996-97Robert Chapman
1995-96Margaret Arcus
1994-95Clare Daem
1993-94Les Lavkulich
1992-93Susan Barr
1992-93David Shackleton
1990-91Brenton Skura

Teaching Assistant Awards:

YearAward WinnersAward
2020-21Amelie Huiying ZhangLFS Graduate Teaching Assistant Award
2019-20Colin Dring Killam Graduate Teaching Award
2018-19Katie KoraleskyLFS Graduate Teaching Assistant Award
2017-18Christine SumnerKillam Graduate Teaching Award
2016-17Carrie JamesLFS Graduate Teaching Assistant Award
2015-16Theresa SchroederKillam Graduate Teaching Award
2014-15Sara MoukarzelLFS Graduate Teaching Assistant Award
2013-14Bryanna ThielKillam Graduate Teaching Award
2011-12Emma HolmesKillam Graduate Teaching Award
2009-10Sophie Baker-FrenchKillam Graduate Teaching Award
2007-08Stephanie GrandKillam Graduate Teaching Award
2005-06Elizabeth SimpsonKillam Graduate Teaching Award
2004-05Candice RideoutKillam Graduate Teaching Award